Tags

, , , , , ,

Sweet rolls á la Norway

I thought I’d share some traditional Norwegian food with you. Don’t be fooled by the title, this is not fancy cuisine, but food that, I believe, every Norwegian has tasted at least once. The first one up is skolebolle. It translates directly to school bun/roll. Where my husband is from they call it Porke, which sounds very funny to me, as purke is a female pig, and there is only a small difference in pronunciation of the two. Anyway, it is worth trying.

Start out with a sweet dough. What I used today was:

(I followed a recipe I found here, and also the tips and tricks from this post. I was left with the softest and easiest dough ever! Absolutely worth a try)

900-1000 grams of flour

1 egg 5 dl milk

25 grams fresh yeast

2 tablespoons of cardamom

150 grams sugar

150 grams butter

You could just mix all this together, but for a better result: Measure up enough butter, dice it and leave on the side. Mix everything together except for the butter and let a machine (or if your’re feeling a little evil; a person) knead it for about 10 minutes. Add the diced butter, one piece at the time. I would recommend leaving this job for a young child, as they will probably enjoy it a lot more than you do (speaking from experience here). Then knead the dough until the butter is absorbed by the rest. Cover the bowl with plastic (as that keeps the moisture in) and leave to rise somewhere warm for a few hours.

After a few hours you’re (most likely) left with a wonderful dough to work with. Cut into about 30 pieces and roll into balls. Dig a hole in the middle of the balls and fill with custard, then cover it again with plastic and leave to rise for a while. (Preferably until they have doubled in size.)

Preheat oven to 220 degrees and bake for 10-15 minutes (time depends a lot on your oven, so don’t leave for ten minutes)

Let the rolls cool before you cover them with icing (icing sugar and water) and dip them in grated coconut. Enjoy!