Tags

and I am now the wealthiest person in the world!

The past week has been packed with social events and I have managed to meet, face-to-face, many of those who have been neglected over the past year. The weekend was spent marking the end of an era, or what should have been the end of an era (nothing is ever black or white in my world), and many came to join the festivities.

I woke up early Sunday morning after having had no more than a few minutes at a time to myself since early Friday morning. I lay for a few minutes thinking back on the last two days, and the fact dawned on me; I must be the luckiest person alive.

 I am surrounded by the most amazing people in world.

From early Friday morning I have been surrounded by friends, good friends. Friends who seem to read my mind, who know what I’m about to say before I say it. Friends who listen when I need to talk, brighten my days and who indubitably have my back no matter what the world throws my way. Friends who are there to share laughter, and to share the tears. Friends who will give me their honest opinion, even if it’s not what I want to hear. And friends who will never disappear, not even in times where they are not my first priority.

To the list I can also add family and colleagues, though the lines between the three are thin – if they exist at all, especially since the latter is at the moment quite an abstract, and almost non-existent category. No matter how they can be categorised, members of both have pushed me on, encouraged, listened, debated and shared experiences that will keep us close for a long time to come. I do consider them all my friends, but they have also for a few years now played the parts of colleagues.