Oops, there smoked the garden snake.

 

During my first year at university we went to York. While there, I and a few fellow students had a wee project on mistakes Norwegians make speaking English or translating from Norwegian to English. The title is of course an extreme case and most likely also fake.

We interviewed native English speakers and presented different mistakes, from the dire, to the minuscule ones, to see how they reacted to them and what types of mistakes we can get away with before it results in loss of meaning. The two sentences were added just for the fun of it, but what meaning people tried to extract from it proved very interesting and entertaining.

This post has about as little meaning as the sentences, but every time the room wheel comes around I think about the title sentence, and I thought I’d share. Besides it would be interesting to see what you extract from the two examples.