Tags

, , ,

Part 1: No great success

I want to start baking our own breads. I don’t eat much bead myself but both Son and Husband do. My project now is to find a recipe that they both like. The bread has to be easily made, and be just as good and not crumble after it has been frozen for a few days. I want to use as little yeast as possible and as much whole grain flour as possible.

The recipe I used:

2,5 dl water

12 grams of yeast

3 dl of yoghurt and sour cream

1 tablespoon of honey

about 0,5 dl canola oil

3 dl white spelt flour

2 dl durum flour

4 dl white wheat flour

2,5 dl oatmeal

1,5 dl barley flour

2,5 dl whole grain wheat

2,5 dl whole grain spelt

and a symbolic amount of salt

I started with about 12 grams of fresh yeast and mixed it with cold water. Fingers needed to get dirty here in order to dissolve it completely.

I used left overs of yoghurt and sour cream…

And a mix of the different flours I had in stock.

I let Kenwood knead it for a while

Then I let Son knead 

Put the dough in two pans. Son was a great help here too

Then I set it in a cold place for about 20 hours to rise

And baked it for 35 mins at 200 degrees.

I am happy with the taste of the bread, but it didn’t rise as much as I had hoped it will. Now, I know I have readers out there who have a lot more experience than me when it comes to bread. So what should I do to improve for next time? Sourdough base? Can I let it rise for another day or so? Any tips or tricks here will be highly appreciated!